Texas County Courthouse is now closed to the public. For assistance please call.
The Court Clerk's Office
Pursuant to Title 43 O.S. § 1 through 20
Persons desiring to be married in this state shall submit an application in writing signed and sworn to in person before the clerk of the district court by both of the parties.
Individuals, 18 years of age or older, wishing to get married need to appear in the Court Clerk's Office with their identification (driver’s license, birth certificate, passport) proving the age of each. If one or both of the individuals are under the age of 18, please contact the Court Clerk's Office for instruction, or refer to the Oklahoma Statute.
The cost of the application and license is $50 unless you have had the necessary amount of pre-marital counseling by a counselor or minister. If proof of pre-marital counseling is provided, the application and license fee is $5.00. There is a disclosure statement that is available for the counselor or minister to complete, in the link below.
The date by which the completed marriage certificate, along with the marriage license, shall be returned to the Court Clerk's Office for recording, shall not be more than thirty (30) days from the date of its issuance. The marriage license must be returned to our office within 5 days of the ceremony taking place.
The license is valid within any county in the State, however must be returned to the issuing clerk's office for recording.
My office recommends having your ceremony date set before appearing to make application, and we suggest you appear no sooner than 10 days prior to your ceremony date.